Where’s my MoJo?

June 22, 2010 § 3 Comments

What the hell, my muffin top is back!

I have no idea where my motivation to exercise disappeared to!  I was doing really well when I had a goal in mind.  I wanted to be in the best shape I could be before going to FL for graduation but now the event has passed. TWENTY EIGHT pounds down and I gave up after proving to myself that I was awesome enough to be healthy.  Now what? I feel so hypocritical starting a fitness blog but not having the motivation to exercise at all.  Haven’t even gone for a walk until today.  It’s been two weeks and I’ve only worked out THREE times.  T-H-R-E-E!  I’ve noticed a bit of a pudge re-developing around my belly and arms.I’ve noticed that my weight is continuing to drop but I think this is mainly from muscle loss (possibly?). Yikes-o-rama!  Well, maybe it’s also because I reduced my points allowance knowing that I was in no mood to exercise.  No Bueno. This is not shaping up to be a very peppy, positive entry.

I keep trying to be mindful of the need to take care of myself before I care for patients but, man, this is tough!  My exercise was my haven – my little place to run, hide and feel like a new person.  I think this will be a good motivator to get my ass in gear and away from the computer.

This hot and humid weather isn’t helping…I love being in the sunshine but cannot tolerate the heat. Exercising in the fresh air is the best but i get pretty cranky when I feel drained from the humidity.  I drink plenty of cold water and carry it with me but that doesn’t seem to cut it.  I know it’s not my thyroid, it can’t be – because I said so… 😦

I recently connceted with a lovely fellow-tweeter who began C25K so maybe this will be my motivation to get back out there. I notice that if I keep a particular event in mind (such as a wedding) , I’m more apt to work towards the goal and succeed.  I have a wedding coming up in a few weeks.  That’s it.  I’m gonna be a hot-mama by then. DONE.

I think I need a few reminders about this goal and how important it is to feel good while I’m there, comfortable in my dress and on the dance floor….not sitting by the dessert table.Speaking of which, my appetite is also on fire (again, I refuse to blame my thyroid.. this is summer heat and laziness…NOT a medical problem. -which i must remind myself often being that sometimes an education can be a deadly thing).  I’ve been noticing that I have been way aboive my daily points allowance these past two weeks; summer parties, BBQ’s, MexiFests, Boozefests, birthday parties, having a kitchen again. It’s been a rough start to summer health thus far!  I’ve consumed many points via beer and fattening dips, which is totally OK, but I need to moderate a bit better.  It’s OK.  I keep telling myself that I’ll get back in gear.

I’m also going to look for a few motivational quotes, write them on little post-it notes, and make sure I see them when I get home from work or head to the fridge.  It’s a plan.

How do you all keep your self motivated to exercise?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Where’s my MoJo?

  • Jenn says:

    I find I stay motivated if I have another type of goal in mind other than a weight loss goal. I began running, and eventually began “training” for a 5K and 10K race. I never actually sign up for these races but I follow the training program which helps me motivated to run whenever it tells me to. (I swear by my Nike +)

  • Skinny Emmie says:

    1st- stop beating yourself up over this
    2nd- someone shared this with me, and it’s very true: “If this were easy, everyone would be doing it.”

    What motivates me? Hard to say. I started working out because I felt I HAD to. No other option. I guess it kind of is the same today. I am making the choice to be fit and healthy. Not lazy and unhealthy.

  • land animal says:

    I absolutely have bouts where I totally fall out of my exercise routine. I am just coming out of one right now actually. Finally got a great rhythm going again in a run yesterday after I don’t know HOW long. A goal like an upcoming wedding is a good thing. I find I have this mentality too, that I NEED a goal. I have started setting goals for myself when the wedding events aren’t there. Try removing everybody else from the equation and think about what you want and how you want to feel physically and set your goals that way.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where’s my MoJo? at Msfitmint.

meta

